Clubs DB by Mass Rising

Find any club in Clubs DB, or the person, company or fund behind it.

42°50′ N 2°41′ W

Deportivo Alavés

Tier 1LaLigaVitoria-Gasteiz, País Vasco, SpainOn the globe

Founded
23 January 1921
Ground
Estadio de Mendizorroza19,840 seats · opened 1924

Who owns Deportivo Alavés

Deportivo Alavés is controlled by José Antonio (Josean) Querejeta, through Baskonia-Alavés Group.

Owned by a multi-club groupOwner based at home: Spain

From the pitch to the top

The company that fields the team, then each holder above it.

Fields the first teamDeportivo Alavés, S.A.D.Sociedad anónima, Spain, NIF A01219617
  • Stake not knowncontrols
    Baskonia-Alavés GroupSociedad anónima, SpainFigure as of July 20262Playbook describes Grupo Baskonia Alavés, chaired by Josean Querejeta, as owner of Deportivo Alavés and Saski Baskonia; the stake is not reported.Medium confidenceSources: 2Playbook, Wikipedia (es)

Alavés’s finances

From its published accounts and league records. Figures compare only with clubs at the tier it played that season.

Against its tier

Alavés's revenue of €61.1m is the 16th highest of the 20 LaLiga clubs with published accounts

In 2024-25 it spent €0.69 on staff for every €1 of revenue; the typical LaLiga club spent €0.73.

  • Alavés
  • Other LaLiga clubs
Revenue20 clubs
Staff per €1 of revenue20 clubs

Each club's newest recorded accounts since 2021–22, at the tier it played that season. If that year's revenue cannot be separated from player trading, the club is omitted rather than using an older year. Coverage counts comparable accounts, not every club with financial data. Revenue excludes player-sale income. Where that income is included in the published total, we subtract the statement's separately reported player-trading figure. Some statements group loan fees and other player income with sale gains; those are removed together. Otherwise loan fees remain included. These are comparisons across accounting formats, not identical revenue definitions. Alavés: Reported revenue €61.1m; player-sale gains already excluded. The scales are logarithmic.

Revenue€61.1m2024-25
Staff costs€42.2m2024-25
Net result€212k2024-25
TV money from the league€43.5m2024-25
Equity
€8.23m
accounts, 2024-25
Squad cost limit
€41.0m
maximum, 2025-26
Public money
€120k
awarded, 2026, 1 records

The accounts

Deportivo Alavés, S.A.D., the entity that fields the team · 2020-21 to 2024-25

Line2024-25Tier 1 · audited2023-24Tier 1 · audited2022-23Tier 2 · audited2021-22Tier 1 · audited2020-21Tier 1 · audited
Profit and loss
Revenue€61.1m€58.7m€15.8m€60.9m€58.0m
TV money€43.9m€44.2m€9.52m€50.1m€51.6m
League and federation distributions€175k1€403k2€19.7m3€864k4€1.03m5
Matchday€5.95m6€5.29m7€2.92m8€3.96m9—
Sponsorship€10.3m10€8.28m10€2.78m10€6.18m10€5.70m10
Commercial€933k11€865k11€566k11€638k11€667k11
Subsidies€1.07m12€426k12€1.32m12€287k12€248k13
Other revenue€1.53m14€1.75m15€902k16€1.14m15€559k17
Player sales€15.1m18€4.95m19€2.15m19€5.48m19€4.91m19
Staff costs€42.2m€34.5m€24.4m€40.6m€41.9m
Wage bill€39.7m20€32.5m21€22.6m22€38.6m23€40.2m24
Players' wages€30.6m25€22.2m26€14.4m26€30.1m27€32.2m28
Other operating costs€25.9m€21.6m€13.6m€22.8m€19.9m
Travel€1.07m€1.14m€790k€822k€674k
Player amortisation€5.26m€2.10m€1.44m€3.36m29€5.60m
Other depreciation€805k€610k€1.21m€1.22m€1.22m
Operating result€3.02m€5.62m−€2.11m−€625k−€4.84m
Financial result−€3.90m−€3.02m−€1.26m−€2.69m−€977k
Result before tax−€888k€2.60m−€3.38m−€3.31m−€5.81m
Income tax−€1.10m30€29.7k—€161k−€3.74m31
Net result€212k€2.57m−€3.38m−€3.47m−€2.07m
Balance sheet
Total assets€152.0m€112.9m€79.8m€82.6m€64.0m
Non-current assets€125.7m32€77.5m33€48.8m34€54.0m35€45.2m36
Player registrations (book value)€10.3m€6.01m37€4.13m38€3.53m€5.61m
Property and equipment€7.22m€6.18m€5.62m€8.05m€12.4m
Current assets€26.3m€35.4m€30.9m€28.6m€18.8m
Transfer fees receivable€6.61m39€5.22m40———
Cash€5.93m€9.82m€5.36m€7.47m€1.44m
Equity€8.23m41€7.27m42€4.58m43€8.16m44€11.8m45
Share capital€4.28m€4.28m€4.28m€4.28m€4.28m
Liabilities€143.8m€105.6m€75.2m€74.4m€52.2m
Non-current liabilities€82.0m€63.8m€45.3m€39.7m€19.1m
Current liabilities€61.8m€41.8m€29.9m€34.7m€33.1m
Financial debt€106.3m46€76.9m47€54.6m48€60.8m49€27.2m50
Tax and social security debt€11.1m51€11.7m52€8.50m51€5.52m51€7.37m51
Transfer fees payable€7.81m53€1.85m53€1.70m53€198k53€522k54
Shareholder loans—€99.9k55——€20k55
Cash flow
Cash from operations−€6.74m€7.12m€10.4m−€13.1m−€13.4m
Cash from investing−€27.3m−€25.4m−€5.41m−€13.2m−€421k
Cash from financing€30.2m€22.7m−€7.11m€32.3m€11.5m
Net change in cash−€3.89m€4.46m−€2.12m€6.03m−€2.39m
Transfers and people
Employees2145618556178562075618056
Players20571957195722572157
Notes on 57 figures, in the accounts’ own words
  1. League and federation distributions: LaLiga €125,454 and RFEF €49,938 (inside ingresos accesorios).
  2. League and federation distributions: LaLiga €235,079 and RFEF €167,668 (inside ingresos accesorios).
  3. League and federation distributions: Ingresos LaLiga €19,450,612 and RFEF €237,303 (inside ingresos accesorios).
  4. League and federation distributions: LaLiga €510,788 and RFEF €352,963 (inside ingresos accesorios).
  5. League and federation distributions: LaLiga €593,514 and RFEF €436,163 (inside ingresos accesorios).
  6. Matchday: Competitions €1,099,404, members and season tickets €4,850,083.
  7. Matchday: Competitions €1,206,941, members and season tickets €4,083,796.
  8. Matchday: Competitions €652,291, members and season tickets €2,263,138.
  9. Matchday: Competitions €396,455, members and season tickets €3,561,033.
  10. Sponsorship: Ingresos por publicidad.
  11. Commercial: Ingresos por comercialización.
  12. Subsidies: LaLiga subsidy.
  13. Subsidies: LaLiga subsidy €170,211 and social-security rebates €78,140.
  14. Other revenue: Other ingresos accesorios €1,484,196 and player loan fees €50,000.
  15. Other revenue: Other ingresos accesorios.
  16. Other revenue: Other ingresos accesorios €852,263 and player loan fees €50,000.
  17. Other revenue: Other ingresos accesorios €459,184 and player loan fees €100,000.
  18. Player sales: Net result of player transfers, mainly gains, less €0.27m of fixed-asset write-offs (deterioro y resultado por enajenaciones y otras, note 11.2).
  19. Player sales: Net result of player transfers (deterioro y resultado por enajenaciones y otras).
  20. Wage bill: Sueldos y salarios of the sporting squad €30,795,231 plus other wages €8,867,831.
  21. Wage bill: Sueldos y salarios of the sporting squad €25,161,370 plus other wages €7,380,343.
  22. Wage bill: Sueldos y salarios of the sporting squad €15,175,937 plus other wages €7,420,676.
  23. Wage bill: Sueldos y salarios of the sporting squad €30,637,320 plus other wages €8,010,519.
  24. Wage bill: Sueldos y salarios of the sporting squad €33,396,563 plus other wages €6,811,367.
  25. Players' wages: Registrable squad (inscribible en LaLiga): players €27,477,489 and first-team coaches €3,150,205, including social security and collective bonuses (note 11.1).
  26. Players' wages: Registrable squad (inscribible en LaLiga), players and first-team coaches, including social security and collective bonuses (note 11.1).
  27. Players' wages: Registrable squad (inscribible en LaLiga), players and first-team coaches, including social security (note 11.1).
  28. Players' wages: Registrable squad (inscribible en LaLiga): players €30,208,264 and first-team coaches €2,000,547, including social security and collective bonuses (note 11.1).
  29. Player amortisation: Registrable €3,114,584 and non-registrable €250,000.
  30. Income tax: Tax income.
  31. Income tax: Tax income (deferred tax asset recognised).
  32. Non-current assets: Includes €94,074,794 of investments in group companies.
  33. Non-current assets: Includes €53,265,268 of investments in group companies.
  34. Non-current assets: Includes €34,271,686 of investments in group companies.
  35. Non-current assets: Includes €32,342,686 of investments in group companies.
  36. Non-current assets: Includes €16,503,110 of investments in group companies.
  37. Player registrations (book value): Including €300,000 of advances.
  38. Player registrations (book value): Including €200,000 of advances.
  39. Transfer fees receivable: Credits with sports entities: long-term €1,233,333, short-term €5,375,333.
  40. Transfer fees receivable: Credits with sports entities (short-term).
  41. Equity: Includes €864,976 of grants; fondos propios €7,364,037.
  42. Equity: Includes €113,590 of grants; fondos propios €7,151,879.
  43. Equity: Fondos propios; no grants.
  44. Equity: Includes €202,013 of grants; fondos propios €7,957,358.
  45. Equity: Includes €404,029 of grants; fondos propios €11,429,394.
  46. Financial debt: Bank debt €33,707,926, LaLiga Impulso (CVC) participating loan €67,134,852, Diputación Foral de Álava participating loan €5,445,869 and other €1,690.
  47. Financial debt: Bank debt €24,692,392, LaLiga Impulso (CVC) participating loan €46,732,739, Diputación Foral de Álava participating loan €5,445,869 and other €18,278.
  48. Financial debt: Bank debt €8,765,672, LaLiga Impulso (CVC) participating loan €40,349,275, Diputación Foral de Álava participating loan €5,445,869 and other €1,690.
  49. Financial debt: Bank debt €23,935,888, LaLiga Impulso (CVC) participating loan €31,446,402, Diputación Foral de Álava participating loan €5,445,869 and other €1,690.
  50. Financial debt: Bank debt €21,722,846 and Diputación Foral de Álava participating loan €5,445,869; excludes €3,417,945 of other short-term financial liabilities, mostly season-ticket holders' deposits to be compensated.
  51. Tax and social security debt: Otras deudas con las administraciones públicas.
  52. Tax and social security debt: Other debts with public administrations €11,721,930 and current tax €2,438.
  53. Transfer fees payable: Debts to clubs or SADs for transfers and loans (short-term).
  54. Transfer fees payable: Debts to clubs or SADs for transfers and loans: long-term €197,916, short-term €324,212.
  55. Shareholder loans: Short-term debts to group and associated companies (Baskonia-Alavés group).
  56. Employees: Average headcount.
  57. Players: Average registrable players.

2024-25: Source: Deportivo Alavés2023-24: Sources: Deportivo Alavés, Deportivo Alavés2022-23: Source: Deportivo Alavés2021-22: Sources: Deportivo Alavés, Deportivo Alavés2020-21: Source: Deportivo Alavés

League figures, wage bills, budgets and public money 23 records
SeasonTV moneySquad cost limitSource
2025-26€41.0mmaximumSource: LaLiga (Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional)
2024-25€43.5mpaid€38.6mmaximumSources: LaLiga (Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional), LaLiga
2023-24€43.7mpaid€31.3mmaximumSources: LaLiga (Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional), LaLiga
2022-23€9.06mpaid€9.81mmaximumSources: LaLiga (Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional), LaLiga (Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional)
2021-22€49.6mpaid€42.9mmaximumSources: LaLiga (Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional), LaLiga (Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional)
Public money, season or yearTotalRecords
2026€120kawarded1
2025€100kawarded1
2024€100kawarded1
2023€470kawarded4
2022€1.10mawarded7
  • 12 June 2026€120kawarded from AYUNTAMIENTO DE VITORIA-GASTEIZ: CONVENIO DE SUBVENCIÓN NOMINATIVA ENTRE EL AYUNTAMIENTO DE VITORIA-GASTEIZ Y EL DEPORTIVO ALAVES S.A.D. PARA EL FOMENTO DE ACTIVIDADES DE FUTBOL FEMENINO PARA LA TEMPORADA 26-27. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)
  • 5 September 2025€100kawarded from AYUNTAMIENTO DE VITORIA-GASTEIZ: Convenio entre el Ayuntamiento de Vitoria-Gasteiz y el Deportivo Alavés s.D para el fomento de actividades de futbol femenino para la temporada 2025-2026. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)
  • 8 November 2024€100kawarded from AYUNTAMIENTO DE VITORIA-GASTEIZ: CONVENIO DE SUBVENCION NOMINATIVA ENTRE EL AYUNTAMIENTO DE VITORIA-GASTEIZ EL DEPORTIVO ALAVES SAD PARA EL FOMENTO DE ACTIVIDADES DE FUTBOL FEMENINO PARA LA TEMPORADA 2024-2025. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)
  • 29 December 2023€100kawarded from AYUNTAMIENTO DE VITORIA-GASTEIZ: Convenio de colaboración entre el Ayuntamiento de Vitoria-Gasteiz y el Deportivo Alavés SAD para el fomento de actividades de fútbol femenino para la temporada 2023-2024. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)
  • 26 October 2023€5,000awarded from ENERGIAREN EUSKAL ERAKUNDEA / ENTE VASCO DE LA ENERGIA: Programa MOVES III Progr. 1. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)
  • 5 October 2023€265kawarded from LANBIDE-SERVICIO VASCO DE EMPLEO: CONVOCATORIA DE AYUDAS PARA EL PROGRAMA INVESTIGO. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)
  • 10 January 2023€100kawarded from AYUNTAMIENTO DE VITORIA-GASTEIZ: Convenio de colaboración entre el Ayuntamiento de Vitoria-Gasteiz y el Deportivo Alavés SAD para el fomento de actividades de fútbol femenino para la temporada 2022-2023. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)
  • 27 December 2022€30kawarded from AGENCIA VASCA DE DESARROLLO EMPRESARIAL: Barne-Ekintzaile 2022. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)

Where Alavés has played

1216-1718-1920-2122-2324-2526-27
Season by season
  1. 2026-271LaLiga
  2. 2025-261LaLiga
  3. 2024-251LaLiga
  4. 2023-241LaLiga
  5. 2022-232Segunda División, promoted
  6. 2021-221LaLiga, relegated
  7. 2020-211LaLiga
  8. 2019-201LaLiga
  9. 2018-191LaLiga
  10. 2017-181LaLiga
  11. 2016-171LaLiga

Not yet established

What we looked for and could not find in public sources. If you know, send a correction with a source.

  • Who the shareholders areGrupo Baskonia Alavés's percentage of Deportivo Alavés, S.A.D. and the vehicle it holds through are not stated in the sources found.
Sources10

Also on Wikidata (Q223620).

Suggest a correction