Clubs DB by Mass Rising

Find any club in Clubs DB, or the person, company or fund behind it.

38°55′ N 6°20′ W

AD Mérida

Tier 3Primera Federación, Grupo 1Mérida, Extremadura, SpainOn the globe

Founded
2013
Ground
Estadio Romano14,600 seats · opened 1954
Full name
Asociación Deportiva Mérida

Who owns AD Mérida

AD Mérida is controlled by Matthew Benham, through Best Intentions Analytics Limited (100%).

Owned by a multi-club groupOwner based abroad: England

From the pitch to the top

The company that fields the team, then each holder above it.

Fields the first teamAsociación Deportiva Mérida, S.A.D.Sociedad anónima, Spain, NIF A06638878
  • 100%controls
    Best Intentions Analytics LimitedPrivate limited company, EnglandSince 15 April 2025, figure as of 15 April 2025Bought 100% from Mérida Holdings, LLC (Mark Heffernan). Wikipedia infobox (2026) unchanged.High confidenceSources: AD Mérida, Wikipedia (en)
    • Stake not knowncontrols
      Matthew BenhamPerson, EnglandSince 2025, figure as of 2 March 2026Through Me And Olja Limited (16262738), registered 75%+ PSC of BIAHigh confidenceSources: Brentford FC, Companies House, Companies House
      What the source says
      Matthew Benham remains the majority owner of Brentford FC
    • Stake not knownminority
      MARV Bee LimitedPrivate limited companySince July 2025, figure as of 2 March 2026Stake not disclosed; increased in March 2026.High confidenceSource: Brentford FC
      What the source says
      Gary and Sir Matthew became minority shareholders in July 2025 through their respective companies This Day Sports and Media Limited (This Day) and MARV Bee Limited (MARV)
    • Stake not knownminority
      This Day Sports and Media LimitedPrivate limited companySince July 2025, figure as of 2 March 2026Stake not disclosed; increased in March 2026.High confidenceSource: Brentford FC
      What the source says
      Gary and Sir Matthew became minority shareholders in July 2025 through their respective companies This Day Sports and Media Limited (This Day) and MARV Bee Limited (MARV)

Changes of control

  1. 15 April 2025

    Best Intentions Analytics Limited took control (100%) from Mérida Holdings, LLC.

    High confidenceSources: AD Mérida, 2Playbook

Mérida’s finances

From its published accounts and league records. Figures compare only with clubs at the tier it played that season.

Against its tier

Mérida's revenue of €1.38m is the 12th highest of the 18 Primera Federación clubs with published accounts

In 2024-25 it spent €1.52 on staff for every €1 of revenue; the typical Primera Federación club spent €1.35.

  • Mérida
  • Other Primera Federación clubs
Revenue18 clubs
Staff per €1 of revenue17 clubs

Each club's newest recorded accounts since 2021–22, at the tier it played that season. If that year's revenue cannot be separated from player trading, the club is omitted rather than using an older year. Coverage counts comparable accounts, not every club with financial data. Revenue excludes player-sale income. Where that income is included in the published total, we subtract the statement's separately reported player-trading figure. Some statements group loan fees and other player income with sale gains; those are removed together. Otherwise loan fees remain included. These are comparisons across accounting formats, not identical revenue definitions. Mérida: Reported revenue €1.38m; player-sale gains already excluded. The scales are logarithmic.

Revenue€1.38m2024-25
Staff costs€2.10m2024-25
Net result−€1.42m2024-25
Equity
€1.22m
accounts, 2024-25
Public money
€45k
awarded, 2026, 1 records

The accounts

Asociación Deportiva Mérida, S.A.D., the entity that fields the team · 2021-22 to 2024-25

Line2024-25Tier 3 · abridged accounts · audited2023-24Tier 3 · abridged accounts · audited2022-23Tier 3 · abridged accounts2021-22Tier 4 · abridged accounts
Profit and loss
Revenue€1.38m€1.08m€1.05m€593k1
TV money€131k2€215k3€201k3€10k
League and federation distributions€180k4———
Matchday€482k5€336k6€288k7€172k8
Sponsorship€378k€427k9€488k9€357k10
Commercial€169k11€77.9k12€72.9k11€54.8k11
Subsidies€231k13€257k14€200k15—
Other revenue€40.9k16———
Player sales€100k17€72.5k18——
Staff costs€2.10m€1.89m€1.80m€1.41m
Wage bill€1.56m€1.53m€1.40m—
Players' wages€931k19€1.21m20€1.13m21—
Other operating costs€859k€804k€663k€254k
Player amortisation€6,00022€3,000€20k23—
Other depreciation€123k24€123k24€121k25€119k26
Operating result−€1.42m−€1.45m−€1.72m27−€1.03m
Financial result−€1,946−€6,298−€5,109−€8,755
Result before tax−€1.42m−€1.46m−€1.72m−€1.04m
Income tax€0€0€0€0
Net result−€1.42m−€1.46m−€1.72m−€1.04m
Balance sheet
Total assets€2.43m€556k€463k€521k
Non-current assets€1.90m28€139k€136k€244k
Player registrations (book value)€0€6,000€0€0
Property and equipment€19.8k€14.6k€18.5k€8,419
Current assets€532k€418k€328k€277k
Cash€230k€134k€26.3k€7,024
Equity€1.22m29€222k30−€535k31€237k32
Share capital€90k33€90k33€90k33€90k33
Liabilities€1.21m€334k€999k€285k
Non-current liabilities€444k34€42.9k€98.9k35€102k
Current liabilities€766k36€292k€900k€182k
Provisions€7,26537€26.2k38——
Financial debt—€20.4k39€27.7k39€34.9k40
Tax and social security debt€168k41€183k42€491k43—
Money from owners
Owner contributions€1.24m44—€1.59m45—
Transfers and people
Employees5043——
Players2446234724472247
Notes on 47 figures, in the accounts’ own words
  1. Revenue: P&L figure; the revenue note totals €596,276.93.
  2. TV money: Ingresos por derechos audiovisuales.
  3. TV money: Ingresos derechos audiovisuales.
  4. League and federation distributions: Ingresos por Federaciones de Fútbol.
  5. Matchday: Season tickets and members €245,103.60, ticketing €236,570.35.
  6. Matchday: Season tickets €228,045.91 and gate €108,012.72.
  7. Matchday: Season tickets €157,319.21 and gate €130,798.35.
  8. Matchday: Season tickets €113,472.36 and gate €58,449.18.
  9. Sponsorship: Ingresos por patrocinio y federaciones (sponsorship and federation money together).
  10. Sponsorship: Ingresos por patrocinio y federaciones.
  11. Commercial: Club shop.
  12. Commercial: Club shop and online sales.
  13. Subsidies: Includes €144,638.79 from the Consejo Superior de Deportes towards Social Security and wages, and €45,000 from the Diputación de Badajoz.
  14. Subsidies: Includes €154,273.89 from the Consejo Superior de Deportes towards Social Security debts and wages, and €45,000 from the Diputación de Badajoz.
  15. Subsidies: Includes €130,649.69 from the Consejo Superior de Deportes towards Social Security debts and wages, and €45,000 from the Diputación de Badajoz.
  16. Other revenue: Ingresos por otros conceptos, inside revenue.
  17. Player sales: Gain on the sale of a player's registration (resultado por enajenaciones del inmovilizado); the rights sold were fully amortised, so it equals the transfer fee.
  18. Player sales: Gain on the sale of a squad player (beneficio por la venta), in deterioro y resultado por enajenaciones del inmovilizado.
  19. Players' wages: Sueldos of the registrable squad's players, before €330,426.14 of Social Security; the registrable coaching staff a further €101,184.50.
  20. Players' wages: Sueldos of the sporting staff, before €253,172.68 of Social Security.
  21. Players' wages: Sueldos of the sporting staff (players and coaches), before €291,308.43 of Social Security.
  22. Player amortisation: Note 5 movement table; the Programa Futuro squad-cost section gives €8,000.
  23. Player amortisation: One player's registration, bought and fully amortised in the year.
  24. Other depreciation: Mostly €118,020.10 on the stadium-use concession, matched by grant income.
  25. Other depreciation: Mostly €118,020.10 on the stadium-use concession, matched by the same amount of grant taken to income.
  26. Other depreciation: Amortización del inmovilizado, total; matched by the same amount of grant taken to income (stadium-use concession).
  27. Operating result: Includes other results of −€381,505.71; the year's costs include a €286,297.44 Social Security judgment over a player.
  28. Non-current assets: Includes the new 15-year stadium-use concession at €1,770,301.50.
  29. Equity: Includes €1,331,737.85 of capital grants and €2,340,841.72 of 'otras aportaciones de socios'; fondos propios −€108,478.64.
  30. Equity: Includes €1,101,205.99 of 'otras aportaciones de socios' and €88,515.07 of capital grants. On 2 May 2024 the sole shareholder (Mérida AD Holding, LLC) used its non-refundable contributions to offset the accumulated losses, so own funds rose from −€623,558.67 to €133,448.07 despite the year's loss; the SME accounts have no statement of changes in equity.
  31. Equity: Includes €3,487,649.16 of 'otras aportaciones de socios' (cumulative, from the sole shareholder) and €88,515.07 of capital grants; fondos propios −€623,558.67.
  32. Equity: Includes €1,896,864.56 of 'otras aportaciones de socios' (cumulative) and €175,777.57 of capital grants; fondos propios €60,764.21.
  33. Share capital: Plus €403,000 of share premium.
  34. Non-current liabilities: Deferred tax liabilities.
  35. Non-current liabilities: Bank debt €20,529.06, deferred Social Security €48,834.11 and deferred tax liabilities €29,505.02.
  36. Current liabilities: Includes €200,000 owed to the former sole shareholder for the RFEF entry guarantee it had funded, repaid on 10 July 2025.
  37. Provisions: Short-term.
  38. Provisions: Short-term, mainly a player's dismissal.
  39. Financial debt: Bank debt, long and short term.
  40. Financial debt: Bank debt: €42,998.07 long term and a short-term balance printed as −€8,137.93.
  41. Tax and social security debt: IRPF €91,925.07, Social Security €74,185.53, VAT €2,328.14 (deferred tax liabilities excluded).
  42. Tax and social security debt: IRPF €68,614.24, Social Security €103,146.33, VAT €11,496.21.
  43. Tax and social security debt: IRPF €258,189.22, Social Security €205,432.66 (February–April 2023 contributions deferred), VAT €27,767.63.
  44. Owner contributions: Cash contributions by the sole shareholder during the year (note 8).
  45. Owner contributions: Increase in 'otras aportaciones de socios' over the year (balance €1,896,864.56 → €3,487,649.16), from the sole shareholder; the SME accounts have no statement of changes in equity.
  46. Players: Average registrable squad players (one more non-registrable).
  47. Players: Average registered squad players.

2024-25: Source: AD Mérida2023-24: Source: AD Mérida2022-23: Source: AD Mérida2021-22: Source: AD Mérida

League figures, wage bills, budgets and public money 14 records
Budgets and other plansTierRevenueStaff costsNet resultEquityWhat it is
2025-263€2.08m€2.54m−€1.63mBudget filed with the federation
Source: AD Mérida
Public money, season or yearTotalRecords
2026€45kawarded1
2025-26€60kawarded1
2025-26€20kmaximum1
2025€45kawarded1
2024€68.3kawarded4
2023-24€75kawarded1
2023€45kawarded1
2022€48.5kawarded2
2021-22€118kawarded1
  • 29 April 2026€45kawarded from DIPUTACIÓN PROVINCIAL DE BADAJOZ: SUBVENCIÓN NOMINATIVA ASOCIACIÓN DEPORTIVA DE MÉRIDA S.A.D.. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)
  • 2025-26€60kawarded from Real Federación Española de Fútbol: Programa Futuro, Primera Federación, T. 2025/2026 (Primera Federación section): laboralidad €60,000.. Source: Real Federación Española de Fútbol
  • 2025-26€20kmaximum from Real Federación Española de Fútbol: Programa Futuro, Primera Federación, T. 2025/2026 (Primera Federación section): incentivo económico €20,000 (importe variable o condicionado).. Source: Real Federación Española de Fútbol
  • 1 April 2025€45kawarded from DIPUTACIÓN PROVINCIAL DE BADAJOZ: SUBVENCIÓN NOMINATIVA ASOCIACIÓN DEPORTIVA MÉRIDA SAD. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)
  • 24 June 2024€6,000awarded from SERVICIO EXTREMEÑO PÚBLICO DE EMPLEO (SEXPE): Subv 2024 a empresas por la contratación indefinida de trabajadores/as, con financiación de fondos de la Comunidad Autónoma y del Estado, acogidas el Reglamento de minimis 2023/2831, s/ Decreto 29/2024, de 2 de abril de 2024 que las convoca. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)
  • 24 June 2024€5,500awarded from SERVICIO EXTREMEÑO PÚBLICO DE EMPLEO (SEXPE): Subv 2024 a empresas por la contratación indefinida de trabajadores/as, con financiación de fondos de la Comunidad Autónoma y del Estado, acogidas el Reglamento de minimis 2023/2831, s/ Decreto 29/2024, de 2 de abril de 2024 que las convoca. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)
  • 10 April 2024€45kawarded from DIPUTACIÓN PROVINCIAL DE BADAJOZ: SUBVENCIÓN A LA ASOCIACIÓN DEPORTIVA MÉRIDA SAD. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)
  • 23 February 2024€11.8kawarded from ENTIDAD PÚBLICA EMPRESARIAL RED.ES: Resolución de la entidad pública empresarial red.es, M.P. por la que se convocan las ayudas destinadas a la digitalización de empresas del segmento I en el marco de la agenda España digital 2025, Programa Kit Digital. Source: Base de Datos Nacional de Subvenciones (IGAE)

Where Mérida has played

34Best Intentions Analytics…16-1718-1920-2122-2324-2526-27
Season by season
  1. 2026-273Primera Federación, Grupo 1
  2. 2025-263Primera Federación, Grupo 1
  3. 2024-253Primera Federación, Grupo 2
  4. 2023-243Primera Federación, Grupo 2
  5. 2022-233Primera Federación, Grupo 1
  6. 2021-224Segunda Federación, Grupo 4, promoted
  7. 2020-213Segunda División B, Grupo 5-B, relegated
  8. 2019-203Segunda División B, Grupo 4
  9. 2018-194Tercera División, Grupo 14, promoted
  10. 2017-183Segunda División B, Grupo 4, relegated
  11. 2016-173Segunda División B, Grupo 4

Not yet established

What we looked for and could not find in public sources. If you know, send a correction with a source.

  • The terms of a dealPrice of Best Intentions Analytics' purchase of 100% (April 2025) not disclosed ('Se desconocen los términos económicos').
Sources17

Also on Wikidata (Q5726133).

Suggest a correction